Sprinkles on top- Ode to my children

 

I took you to the cinema yesterday. Well, 3 out of 4. 75% of my rebel army. Something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. You didn’t know what a cinema was until today. You being only 3 and 4 years old, I wanted to make sure you are old enough to enjoy and not be terrified of the experience it being loud and dark and all that. I wanted to be there for that excitement and your big eyes of wonderment. Today was that day. Today we went to the cinema. We went all out and got all the trimmings. Coke (I know, but it was treat day!) Popcorn, sweets. You were so excited that I got all excited with you. It was special. A day out with Mama. No baby attached to my hip. I was all yours. Ye chatted the whole way through the movie loud enough for everyone to hear. No shhhhhhing would stop the chitter chatter. You made as much noise as you could eating the popcorn and ate it in record time like there was some sort of popcorn eating competition. You drank that Coke like you’ve been through the Sahara desert and were about to die of dehydration. I’d swear I never gave you anything to eat or drink. You didn’t sit still for 5 minutes. You were too busy looking round, looking for that jelly you dropped, looking for more popcorn or more coke. It was wonderful. Exactly what I thought it would be like. I watched you in amusement.  You are only small after all. Afterwards, you’re running off your Coke-fuelled energy in the play area and I am watching you from a distance. I realise that today is one of those days where being a mum to you beautiful little people is all I want to be.

I love you. I love you with all my heart and each fiber in my body. You are MY children. I am blessed. You are so beautiful. You are my pride and joy; the apple of my eye. I live for you. Then out of the blue, you, my eldest son, who has got to be the kindest kid ever decided that it was time to get a treat for me. You insisted and off you went to buy me something. You returned with a Swirl. Bought with your own money. A large one, with extra chocolate shavings and extra sprinkles. And you said that I deserved it. For being such a good mum. (*Bawling*) I mean how sweet is that!! I am eating my ice cream with tear in my eyes and a sniffle in my nose. Such a beautiful gesture. Such a small, wonderful gesture of gratitude.

image1This is what makes all the hard work as mother worthwhile. Your love is what gives me the strength during times when the going gets tough and when you are being little shits.

I love you, so much.

With extra sprinkles on top.

3 thoughts on “Sprinkles on top- Ode to my children

  1. Oh what a wonderful post. I loved taking my kids to the cinema when they were younger, it is fabulous tonsee their faces when they view ‘the big telly’ (their description).
    It was a wonderful gesture by your eldest too, I wohld have been eating with a tear if happiness in my eye too if that had been me.
    Thanks for sharing with us, Tracey xx #happydiaries

    Like

Leave a Reply

